A Beginner-Friendly Guide to Configure GoDaddy Custom Domain Names to Heroku App (2019+ Edition)

Tek Loon
5 min readDec 6, 2019
Photo by Derek Thomson on Unsplash

I bought a domain name a few days ago for my Heroku Application. The purchase process is seamless and easy. However, the configuration part was a bit challenging. After several trials and mistakes, I finally managed to configure the domain name for my Heroku Application. Thus, I decided to write a detailed article, which allows even non-technical people can do this easily.

I separated the configuration into two parts.

  • Part 1: Setup Custom Domain in Heroku App Settings.
  • Part 2: GoDaddy DNS Settings.

Part 1 is configured in Heroku Dashboard and Part 2 is configured in GoDaddy. Without further ado, let’s walk through the step.

Part 1: Setup Custom Domain in Heroku App Settings

Right after you bought the domain name from GoDaddy, go to your Heroku App Settings to configure the domain name. The screenshot below displays the step-by-step guide.

Step 1: Select Your Application from Heroku Dashboard

--

--

Tek Loon

Coder and Writer. If you enjoy my stories— support me by https://www.buymeacoffee.com/tekloon so I can keep writing articles for the community.